Press "Enter" to skip to content

What Is The United Nations?

The United Nations (UN) is an intergovernmental organization that consists of 193 member countries. The purported goal of the UN is to achieve international cooperation in order to maintain international peace and security. It was established in 1948. 

Founding Of The UN

The United Nations (UN) was established after World War II following the Yalta Conference and the San Francisco Conference. At Yalta, Franklin D. Roosevelt, Winston Churchill and Joseph Stalin agreed that a new global organization should be created to manage international affairs after the war. 

The proposed organization was discussed at Dumbarton Oaks where representatives from France, Britain, China and the US were appointed to a committee to draft a charter for it. In 1945, delegates from 50 countries met in San Francisco to finalize the charter for this new international organization. 

This charter which is known as the United Nations Charter was ratified by the major allied powers of World War II and it outlined their commitment to international peace and security and provided a framework for negotiations on all matters of global concern. 

It also set forth guidelines on how an international organization such as the UN should function in order to manage international affairs in a fair and just manner. 

How The UN Works

The UN claims to harmonize the actions of its members, developing friendly relations among nations, and promoting economic cooperation. 

The United Nations also serves as an international governing body, taking action on matters such as peace and security. Its Security Council, composed of 15 member countries, is responsible for carrying out decisions concerning international peace and security.

The United Nations is also a consultative body, in which its members can work together to take such joint action as they deem necessary to secure international peace and justice. 

In addition to acting as a forum for the settlement of legal disputes, the United Nations has a role in maintaining international peace by assisting in the implementation of special agreements concluded between parties for this purpose. 

It can also give advisory opinions on legal questions referred to it by authorized United Nations organs or by the General Assembly. 

The International Court of Justice is the principal judicial organ of the United Nations and is based in The Hague. Its primary role is to settle disputes among states that have been brought before it by members in accordance with accepted principles of international law. 

It may also give advisory opinions on legal questions referred to it by authorized United Nations organs or by the Security Council. 

The Permanent Court of Arbitration was established by treaty in October 1899 as an independent institution within The Hague Peace Palace, and provides services for resolving international disputes through arbitration, mediation, and conciliation. 

Its purported role is to provide a forum for settling legal disputes among states or between states and private persons or entities involving international law through binding decisions determined according to rules set out in advance by consenting parties. 

It can also give advisory opinions on legal questions referred to by authorized United Nations organs or governments that have accepted its jurisdiction with respect to particular matters.

The Six Main Organs Of The UN 

The UN has six main organs: the Security Council, the Trusteeship Council, the Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC), the International Court of Justice (ICJ), the Secretariat, and the United Nations General Assembly. 

The Trusteeship Council was established to oversee certain colonial territories that were granted to nations as part of their mandate from their respective governments. The council was responsible for setting up a trusteeship system to provide international supervision over these territories and to ensure that they were administered according to standards set by its members. 

This system was abolished in 1994 when all 11 trust territories had achieved self-government or independence. The Security Council is responsible for maintaining international peace and security through binding resolutions which all member states are obligated to follow under agreed upon terms set forth by three leaders who drafted its founding charter in 1945.

Since its formation in 1945, the UN has become an important forum for negotiations between member states on various topics ranging from economic development to human rights protection.

The term ‘United Nations’ was first used in 1942 and officially adopted in 1945 when the Charter of the United Nations was signed by the representatives of fifty-one countries. 

This standard legally binding document outlines the objectives and principles of the organization and sets forth two binding treaties: The International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights, 1966 and The International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights, 1966. 

The UN was founded on universal values such as human dignity, freedom, justice, peace, international cooperation, and understanding among peoples and nations. 

These values form a common standard of achievement for all people in all nations to strive for. As such they are accepted principles that form an inseparable part of international law. 

The UN has since become a global platform for dialogue and cooperation between governments in order to promote international peace and security as well as protect human rights. It does this through its many agencies which are tasked with developing programs to promote economic development, protect human rights, support refugees or provide disaster relief.

The United Nations (UN) is an international organization that was created in 1945 to strengthen global health security, coordinate countries’ actions, and achieve worldwide cooperation. 

The UN works to promote human rights, security, pandemic preparedness, developing friendly relations among nations and providing life-saving aid. 

In addition to these core objectives the UN also seeks to include other important objectives such as tackling humanitarian problems, rights of self-determination, tackling global warming and gender equality in its efforts for a better world. 

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x